Monday, December 17, 2012

Indiana Film Journalists Association announces 2012 Awards

This is obviously not a new review, but the critics' group I belong to has released their 2012 awards.  I did take part in the voting and even a few of my selections won.  The main story from our group is the fact that Safety Not Guaranteed won Best Film.  This is definitely an original selection and I for one think it's pretty cool to be part of a group willing to go in that direction.  That said, I did not vote for that film.  Sorry, I am one of those lame, predictable critics who loves Lincoln and The Master.  I can't help it.  Anyway, I don't have my end of the year stuff ready yet, so you'll have to wait and see if I'm completely boring and predictable in my personal picks for the year.  Until then, check out the awards and try to check out Safety Not Guaranteed, if you haven't already.  I may not have voted for it, but I still really enjoyed it.
The Indiana Film Journalists Association, an organization of journalists dedicated to promoting quality film criticism in the Hoosier State, is pleased to announce its annual film awards for 2012.


"Safety Not Guaranteed" took top honors, winning Best Film as well as Best Original Screenplay (Derek Connolly).


"Beasts of the Southern Wild" was the runner-up for Best Film and also won the Original Vision Award, which recognizes a film that is especially innovative or groundbreaking. Eight other films were named Finalists for Best Film.


Quentin Tarantino took Best Director for "Django Unchained." Stephen Chbosky won Best Adapted Screenplay for "The Perks of Being a Wallflower."


Jessica Chastain won Best Actress for "Zero Dark Thirty." Anne Hathaway was named Best Supporting Actress for "Les Misérables."


In the Best Actor category, Bradley Cooper in "Silver Linings Playbook" and Daniel Day-Lewis in "Lincoln" tied for winner. (This was the first time the group has experienced a deadlock that could not be broken after multiple rounds of voting; members elected to declare a tie with no runner-up.) Tommy Lee Jones was named Best Supporting Actor for "Lincoln."


"Rise of the Guardians" was named Best Animated Film, "Searching for Sugar Man" Best Documentary and "The Raid: Redemption" Best Foreign Language Film. Thomas Newman won Best Musical Score for "Skyfall."


The Hoosier Award, which recognizes a significant cinematic contribution by a person or persons with Indiana roots, went to Jon Vickers, Founding Director of Indiana University Cinema.


In a few short years, Vickers has established IU Cinema as a major hub for serious consideration of film as an art form, scheduling an ambitious program of film screenings, retrospectives, festivals, traveling exhibits and topical programs. He has also attracted prominent guest lecturers, including Werner Herzog during the past year. Previously, Vickers served as managing director of the DeBartolo Performing Arts Center at the University of Notre Dame.


The following is a complete list of honored films:


Best Film

Winner: Safety Not Guaranteed        

Runner-Up: Beasts of the Southern Wild

Other Finalists (listed alphabetically):

Django Unchained

Les Misérables


Moonrise Kingdom

The Perks of Being a Wallflower       

The Sessions

Silver Linings Playbook

Zero Dark Thirty


Best Animated Feature

Winner: Rise of the Guardians

Runner-Up: ParaNorman       


Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: The Raid: Redemption         

Runner-Up: Amour


Best Documentary

Winner: Searching for Sugar Man

Runner-Up: Room 237


Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Derek Connolly, "Safety Not Guaranteed" 

Runner-Up: Quentin Tarantino, "Django Unchained"


Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Stephen Chbosky, "The Perks of Being a Wallflower"

Runner-Up: David O. Russell, "Silver Linings Playbook"


Best Director

Winner: Quentin Tarantino, "Django Unchained"     

Runner-Up: Kathryn Bigelow, "Zero Dark Thirty"


Best Actress

Winner: Jessica Chastain, "Zero Dark Thirty"

Runner-Up: Jennifer Lawrence, "Silver Linings Playbook"  


Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Anne Hathaway, "Les Misérables”

Runner-Up: Helen Hunt, “The Sessions”


Best Actor

Winners (Tie):

Bradley Cooper, "Silver Linings Playbook"

Daniel Day-Lewis, “Lincoln”


Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Tommy Lee Jones, “Lincoln”

Runner-Up: Christoph Waltz, "Django Unchained"


Best Musical Score

Winner: Thomas Newman, "Skyfall" 

Runner-Up: Mychael Danna, "Life of Pi"     


Original Vision Award

Winner: Beasts of the Southern Wild

Runner-Up: Django Unchained


The Hoosier Award

Winner: Jon Vickers, Founding Director of Indiana University Cinema

(As a special award, no runner-up is declared in this category.)


About IFJA: The Indiana Film Journalists Association was established in February 2009. Members must reside in the Hoosier State and produce consistent, quality film criticism or commentary in any medium.


No comments:

Post a Comment